Catwoman Film Review: Magic Mike

Rating: 5 out of 10

About the film:

Set in the world of male strippers, Magic Mike is directed by Steven Soderbergh and stars Channing Tatum in a story inspired by his real life. The film follows Mike (Tatum) as he takes a young dancer called The Kid (Pettyfer) under his wing and schools him in the fine arts of partying, picking up women, and making easy money. — (C) Warner Bros.

My Review:

Sometimes after you watch a film and you go home and you think about what to write you sometimes have a look on the net to see what other people think and sometimes a lot of people who have reviewed the same movie as you have a totally different view on it, so if you are thinking about watching this movie in the cinema, I recommend reading my review and then some more after. So here goes…

I watched this film in the cinema with some of my Girlfriends, I will be honest I was not the person who decided to choose this film, yet I was more than up for watching it and thought it would be the ideal film for a girly night out. Oh how I was wrong.

I imagine when the producers and film elite had a brainstorm with the words. How to get Women in the Cinema?… They put these words around the bubble. Strippers. Bare bums. Humour.  Sexy men. Oh did I mention bare bums. They then came up with “Magic Mike”.

“Magic Mike” is about a male strip club and the strippers that work there and the lifestyles that surround them. The lifestyle that male strippers lead involves women and drugs. Mike tries to stay out of that lifestyle. Mike played by Channing Tatum, only strips to help him fufill his life long goal This is where the other main character comes in Adam. Adam played by Alex Pettyfer is the opposite and embraces the hard-living style and laps it up. Causing problems, not just for him but for his sister and Mike.  This makes Mike think, about what his life is turning into and what he wants to do with the rest of his life and have a bit of a reality Check. Does he really want to carry on with Stripping?

I don’t think they knew what they wanted the film to be they just wanted to get bums on seats. There was the odd funny moment mainly when Matthew McConaughey (the only good thing about the film) was in the scene. His acting was the only saving grace and his tongue-and-cheek role was genius.  However the film is not a comedy… I don’t think?? The film had a serious plot running through the film yet the storyline ended with so many unanswered questions and sub plots that it just didn’t work.

As for the acting. Well there suppose to be romance in the film. There are more sparks in my sparkler that’s been left in the garden from last year than the sparks in the relationship between Mike and Adam’s sister. The actress who played Adam’s sister was so wooden and really didn’t look like she wanted to be there, constantly looked like she had a migraine and generally was just awful.

In all I was totally disappointed  and so were my friends, the film was nothing that I expected. I’m glad there was an offer on to see this film or I would have been more annoyed.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

